Day Seventy-Two: Convenience

“Out beyond ideas of wrong-doing and right-doing, there is a field. I’ll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass, the world is too full to talk about. Ideas, language, even the phrase ‘each other’ doesn’t make any sense.” Rumi

I have lost a lot of weight recently and I’m thinner than I have been in many years.  Maybe up to 10 years now.  I feel great.  My sex partner keeps telling me that I need to shape up and that I’m all sweaty.  He’s saying it lightheartedly (considering we go for many hours) but it doesn’t matter – I like it and it doesn’t make me feel bad about myself because I feel great and I see that he’s motivating me to feel even better.  This must be what sex is for, besides procreation. 

Meditation is meant to get you in tune with your mind and to snoop around on what you’re thinking about all of the time and why (same with dream analysis).  Exercise and stretching are about getting in touch with your body and spending time with your different parts, seeing them from different angles and feeling them as they move all around.  And sex is about getting in tune with your body in different ways, as well as with another’s body in very intimate ways, which is why sex should be between people who trust and care about each other.  You want the person seeing all of you to be noticing your parts and what they are made of.

Spending time petting animals is about connecting with nature, as are walking, gardening, talking to trees, talking to yourself, swimming in the ocean, etc… I listened to a guided meditation this morning that was describing the perfect, magical place where you walk through a thick forest, touch the trees, smell the flowers, feel the breeze, get to a clearing, see the most beautiful waterfall, dive in the water… this is what every day living should be like.  This is essentially how I spend my day to day existence, or some variation of it.  Living in the city and going into these places in our mind is fine for a time, but after a while you begin to seem ridiculous living in your imagination – if not even to anyone else, then at least to yourself.  And if you don’t, then you’re some next level kind of crazy.

I spent the morning sweeping the driveway of dead leaves and flowers.  It’s a job that took me about an hour.  It’s something that I could pay someone here a pittance to do (maybe $4) but it’s important to spend time doing our own chores, regardless of convenience.  If there was a choice between manual labour or machine labour, I choose paying with manual labour, which costs about a nights room and board, whereas machine labour has untold costs of life if you look at the entire evolutionary cycle of the machine.  Sure, it lasts longer, but what did it take to create it?  And how will it evolve outside of our present understanding?  These are deep, serious questions that we need to evaluate as a society.  Are we really ready for the price of convenience?

Leave a Reply

