Day Twenty-Four: Hope

It feels like a new day today.  I am feeling very inspired by those around me.  People are expanding their mindsets so quickly now.  I’m not sure, but I think it’s because our impending deaths have become almost palpable.  More of us are finally realizing that it is at least an imminent possibility.  And what I see happening as a result is a realization of spirit and connection.

Years ago, I wouldn’t have imagined that I would be taking part in conversations on the nature of spirit with so many people.  I would have expected that most people (especially those who are non-religious) will not believe in souls, or at least wouldn’t be so certain.  Today, I feel like most people believe in something eternal that connects us with all of the plants and animals and all of the life in existence.  I can only assume that it is the death of our planet that is bringing our awareness to the feeling of life, in the same way that you don’t usually consider your breathing until you are short of breath.

Padma Sambhava, the man thought to have brought Buddhism to Tibet, read from The Bardo Thodol (Book of the Dead) to guide the dead while they were in the state between death and reincarnation in order for them to recognize the nature of their mind and attain liberation from the cycle of rebirth.  The idea that it is time for us all to break the cycle has been in my recurring dreams since childhood.

When my dad passed away, I knew that his cycle was not over.  I wrote a short story about the visualizations that I was having of his transition from this life to the next.  The experience of visualizing his death at the time (because I was not present, but I knew that it was happening) has evolved my philosophy so much.  I still feel a connection with my father’s essence, even though I believe that he is somewhere else, living another life.  I know that we meet frequently in the dream world, and I believe that is where we can all feel the connections that we have, past, present, and future, with all.  And when I need to feel his presence in my waking life, I only need to reach into my heart and feel the love that I have always felt for him and he’s with me.  He has not left my side, making him in three different places at once, as far as I’m concerned: in the physical world, incarnated into another life; in the psychic realm, where we work through collective issues together; and in the spirit realm, in omnipresent essence with All.

It does not matter where and how we incarnate, but it is up to us to make the connections again and prove to ourselves that we are all multi-dimensional beings, who have been stuck in one dimension, forgetting about the rest.  It is time to feel our whole selves; to dig in our roots, stretch out our branches, and sway with the wind.

“Are you oblivious to the sufferings of birth, old age, sickness and death? There is no guarantee that you will survive, even past this very day! The time has come [for you] to develop perseverance in [your] practice. For, at this singular opportunity, you could attain the everlasting bliss [of nirvāṇa]. So now is [certainly] not the time to sit idly, But, starting with [the reflection on] death, you should bring your practice to completion!3   The moments of our life are not expendable, And the [possible] circumstances of death are beyond imagination. If you do not achieve an undaunted confident security now, What point is there in your being alive, O living creature?”
― Padmasambhava, The Tibetan Book of the Dead: First Complete Translation

Leave a Reply

